Advisory Board

We are honoured to receive the support of a diverse and experienced group of key figures in the ASEAN-Australia relationship. The AASYP Advisory Board provides non-binding yet informed advice, recommendations and counsel to the AASYP Board Directors and Executive Team on how to best build knowledge, inspire engagement and create connections with ASEAN and Australia youth. 

Gareth Evans



Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AC QC FASSA FAIIA is Distinguished Honorary Professor at the Australian National University, where he was Chancellor from 2010-19. He was a Cabinet Minister in the Hawke and Keating Labor Governments from 1983-96. During his 21 years in Australian politics he was Leader of the Government in the Senate (1993-96) and Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the House of Representatives (1996-98). From 2000 to 2009 he was President and CEO of the Brussels-based International Crisis Group, the independent global conflict prevention and resolution organisation. He was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2012 for his eminent service to international relations, particularly in the Asia-Pacific region​.



Penny is the CEO of Asialink at the University of Melbourne, Australia's leading center for creative engagement with Asia. She joined Asialink from global digital payments company, Visa Inc, where she served as Vice President Government Affairs, Asia Pacific. Prior to Visa, Penny lead External Relations and Client Service Risk for the Asia Pacific with McKinsey&Company. Penny is former senior diplomat. She represented Australia at a senior level in Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia and at the United Nations in Geneva and New York, and served as an Adviser to the Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Dr Choltis Dhirathiti


Dr Dhirathiti has worked for ASEAN University Network (AUN) since 2009 where he employs his experience on public sector strategies, policy consultancy and human resource development to the work of regional and multilateral cooperation among universities in Southeast Asia. In ARC7, Dr Dhirathiti is the moderator in Working Group Session Part 1 “Taking Action at Community Level: SDGs as Drivers of University Societal Impact”.

Michele Ford


Professor Michele Ford is Director of the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre. Her research focuses on trade union aid, Southeast Asian labour movements and labour migration. Michele’s work has been supported by a number of Australian Research Council Discovery Project grants related to these and other topics. She has also been involved in extensive consultancy work for the ILO, the international labour movement and the Australian government.

Rodora Turalde-Babaran


Ms. Rodora Turalde-Babaran is the Director of Human Development, ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Department of the ASEAN Secretariat since September 2014. Ms. Rodora is responsible for managing the overall operations of the Human Development Directorate that supports the ASEAN sectoral ministerial bodies for health, education, labour, social welfare and development, women/gender, rights of women and children, youth, sports, and civil service. Prior to joining the ASEAN Secretariat, Ms. Rodora was a director at the Department of Social Welfare and Development of the Philippines and served as National Program Manager of the Philippine Conditional Cash Transfer Program, the largest social protection program in the country.

Annisa Natalegawa


Annisa is a Partner and Managing Director at Asia Group Advisors (AGA), a strategy and public affairs advisory firm that helps clients grow their business in Southeast Asia. Annisa leads AGA’s operations across the region, with a focus on client advisory, business development and thought leadership. She has spent the last six years at AGA, delivering results in business strategy, political risk assessment, strategic messaging, and engagement and advocacy campaigns in multiple industries across multiple countries



Sung is a committed advocate for Australia's engagement with Asia. He is currently a Director at PwC Australia in the Asia Practice, and the ASEAN Desk Lead. Sung is also an Advisory Council Member of the Griffith Asia Institute, an Executive Committee Member of the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC) Australian Committee, an Advisory Board Member of the ANU Centre for Asian-Australian Leadership, a Governing Group Member of the ANU Crawford Leadership Forum, a Selection Panel Member of the Westpac Asian Exchange Scholarship and a Board Member of Canberra Grammar School.